Happy April!

Good afternoon, how do you do, and hello! How is everyone today? I hope you’re well, because I am, and am feeling quite cheerful at the moment.

Oh, and by the way, it just so happens that today is April, which happens to be a very cheerful month, at least for me. And you know why?

My parents just announced that for summer vacation, our family would be going on a European tour!!!!

AHHHHH!!!!!

Starting June 15, we’ll be traveling to Spain, France, Germany, England, and Denmark…for a whole month! Doesn’t that sound exciting! And guess what else?………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

HAPPY APRIL FOOLS!!!!!!

He he, yeah. I wish we were going on a European tour! But I had to honor April Fools’ somehow, so I just fabricated a dream vacation. I bet you guys didn’t even believe me, though. You guys are smart like that. Plus I’m a bad liar, even in type. 😉

Seriously, though, April is great, for several exciting reasons. One, as I said in my post yesterday, I’m on spring break, which, despite what Andy Williams says in his song, is really the most wonderful time of the year.

Also, April is National Poetry Month! I’ve always rather liked poetry, because I’m nerdy like that, so I’m excited. In school, our teacher is having us memorize a poem to recite in front of the class to honor the occasion. I chose an Irish poem, which just so happens to actually be in Irish. I don’t speak the language, but I did look up the pronunciations, so hopefully all works out. Here it is:

Mise RaifteirĂ­ an File

Mise RaifteirĂ­ an file,
LĂĄn dĂłchas is grĂĄ,
Le sĂșile gan solas,
Le ciĂșnas gan chrĂĄ.

‘Dul siar ar m’aistear
Le solas mo chroĂ­
Fann agus tuirseach
Go deireadh mo shlĂ­.

Féach anois mé
Is mo chĂșl le balla,
Ag seinm ceoil
Do phĂłcaĂ­ folmha.

 

And just in case you don’t speak Irish, here’s the translation:

I am Raftery the poet

I am Raftery the poet,
Full of hope and love,
With eyes without light,
Calm without anguish.

Going back in my travels
With the light of my heart
Weary and tired
To the end of my journey.

Look at me now
And my back to the wall,
Playing music
To empty pockets.

 

It really is a nice poem, isn’t it? I looked up it’s meaning, and it turns out it’s about a writer who feels frustrated at never being rewarded or feeling fulfilled by his work. I though it was especially fitting, because April is also….

(Drumroll, please…)

CAMP NANOWRIMO!!

Guys, Camp NaNoWriMo, is like, the second best thing to NaNoWriMo. It’s amazing. And I’m so excited! Not only will it prepare me for actual NaNo in November, but it will give me an excuse to stay up late typing. 🙂

So, are you guys excited for April! Obviously, I am! Who’s doing something cool or has something exciting this month?

Smiles, smiles, smiles,

Lydia

2 thoughts on “Happy April!

Leave a Reply

