Sewing Projects

Hi guys! Good news! One…I’m on spring break!

(Imagine confetti exploding from gigantic cannons onto a cheering, partying crowd all gorging themselves on chocolate ice cream.)

Two…it turns out, I can sew!

This isn’t exactly new news to me, as I’ve always been able to sew. But I never new that I was actually pretty good until I recently took on some recent sewing projects.

1. I made a quilt! I’m especially proud of this. I’ve been wanting to quilt for ages, and finally I found a pattern that looked simple enough for me to follow. It actually turned out great, if I do say so myself. 🙂

IMG_0687
Here it is! It’s not very big–it’s only a lap quilt. But I am very proud of it. It’s also a raggedy-rustic style quilt, so yes, it is supposed to look like that. 😉
IMG_0688
My quilt is also very snuggle-y. 🙂

2. I made pioneer clothes!

I know this sounds kind of strange, because it’s not like everyone just wakes up in the morning and decides, “Hey, you know what? I’m going to go sew myself a pioneer wardrobe!” However, I did have a good reason. In my church, every few summers the youth 14 and up get to go on this thing called Pioneer Trek, which is basically where we get assigned to ‘families’ and pretend that we are pioneers for four days by hiking through the woods with handcarts. I know it sounds kind of lame, and it’s true that most of the time it either rains the entire event or it’s 95 degrees outside, but it’s actually really fun–or so I’ve heard; this is the first year I’m old enough to go.

Anyway, I had to make two outfits for the event and I finally finished. I’ll apologize in advance for the terrible pictures, but here they are!

IMG_0684
Here’s my first outfit. You can’t really tell, but the skirt is light gray with pink roses on it. 
IMG_0685
Here’s my second outfit. This skirt reminds me of the dress Dorothy wears in the wizard of Oz. 🙂

And each outfit is complete with pantaloons and boots (although you obviously can’t see those) XD!

Well, that’s my thing for today. I’ll try to post some great stuff soon! Which sewing project was your favorite?

Smiles,

Lydia

2 thoughts on “Sewing Projects

  1. Lovely! The Pioneer trek sounds really fun! If you need any other outfits, I probably have a dress or two, although the bonnets would probably fit you better. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

