Tornado Season

Hello, all! Buckle up for this post, and prepare for a whole lot of sappy, cheesy mush.

March through August where I live is tornado season, and tonight, it’s hitting in full force. My county is under a tornado watch. Crazily, though, it’s strangely beautiful: the pitch black sky is like a stretch of patchy velvet, and when lightning appears on the horizon, the entire sky lights up to a white-hot orange that dances like fire, but only for a split second before it fades again into the soft, dangerous darkness.

IMG_0682

IMG_0683

Sorry for the bad pictures–it’s much better in person. The lighting wasn’t very good, see. But this is what it looks like from the front and back of my house.

However, right before the sky faded into the menacing darkness it is now, it was a beautiful–absolutely gorgeous– fiery orange.

IMG_0681

IMG_0680

You can’t see it too well, but we were in the car when I saw it, so when I got home I had to hurry before the last of it faded. It was nice for me, though, because I’ll be honest: today was not a good day for me. My athsma was acting up, and I was tired and sore, and it was an especially busy afternoon. But the nice sunset right before the tornado warning was like a reminder that good things always come before bad, and there’s always something happy to look for in a gloomy situation. It’s the calm before the storm.

When I thought of this, it reminded me of a poem I read once by Robert Frost (he’s a great guy, by the way, you should read his stuff). Here it is:

Nature’s first green is gold,

Her hardest hue to hold.

Her early leaf’s a flower,

But only so an hour.

Then leaf subsides to leaf,

And Eden subsides to grief,

So dawn goes down to day,

Nothing gold can stay.

The poem is talking about the time of morning–dawn–when the first rays of light are peeking over the horizon and are bathing everything in its new light. But then that light fades, leaving you to the struggles of the day. It’s a metaphor, saying that something bad always comes after something good. But you have to remember, it comes in a cycle: after the day, night comes, and then that golden dawn is back.

So that’s just my little cheesy, inspirational thought for today. Let’s hope no tornadoes hit!

Smiles,

Lydia

Leave a Reply

