High School Registration

I’ve reached that point at school where teachers are starting to have us basically sign contracts about our future. Whoop-de-doo.

Seriously, though! There’s a law where I live that says I have to know exactly what I want to be when I grow up, and exactly what classes I want to take in high school and college, before ninth grade!

So for the past two weeks I’ve been signing forms, picking classes, touring schools, stuff like that. We recently had to pick our freshman year electives. I chose the usual: Spanish, band, art, technology. But we had to choose five, and since I didn’t know what else, I signed up for agriculture.

This is the conversation I had after this: (this isn’t meant to be rude to any of you who farm, my family was just surprised because I don’t know anything about agriculture).

Mom: How was the high school?

Me: It was so cool! I chose my electives.

Mom: Which ones did you pick?

Me: Band, Spanish, technology, art, and agriculture.

Mom (after a second’s silence): Agriculture? You chose agriculture?

Me: Yes. It sounded fun!

Mom: Well what were the other options?

Me: Well, there was culinary arts…

Mom: Why didn’t you do that one?

Me: Mother, if I did culinary arts I would burn the school down.

Mom: Exactly why you should have done that one!

Me: So I can burn the school down?

Mom: No, so you can learn to cook right. (Laughs slightly) agriculture?

Dad (walks in): What about agriculture?

Mom: Lidi picked her electives today and she chose agriculture.

Dad (bemused): You gonna be a farmer?

Me: No! I’m just…broadening my perspective.

Dad: Sure. Well, I hope you get it.

Megan (my sister): Oh, she’ll get it. She’s probably one of three people that signed up for that class.

 

So, yeah.

Well, I’ll let you know what I end up getting! Do you think I’ll get agriculture?

Smiles,

Lydia

One thought on “High School Registration

Leave a Reply

